The CHS is transforming the way it delivers data!

Interested in trying our new water level tools? Visit our new website now under development.

Water level chart

Web services and Rest-API

Please note:

As of 12:00 pm EDT on Monday, May 3rd, 2021, the old Canadian Hydrographic Service WDS services (observations and predictions) are being decommissioned. Please refer to the text below for information on using the new REST-API for direct access to official water level data and other available services.

Web service providing access to water level SPINE forecasts

Technical specifications for accessing this service

This document describes the technical specifications for accessing the Web-based water level forecasting and interpolation service between Montreal and Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive commonly known as SPINE.

Description

The SPINE web-based forecasting service was developed by the Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) and is available free of charge under licence. This system allows to obtain water levels at a time and position specified by the user, up to 30 days in the future, for the navigation channel of the St. Lawrence River between the Port of Montreal and Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive.

This system is based, in part, on water level forecasts derived from a hydrodynamic model that takes various weather conditions into account and, in part, on real-time observations made by the network of permanent water level recorders. To increase their accuracy, digital model forecasts are adjusted according to water level observations for the entire area. A precision matrix is also provided for forecast data.

To access this Web service, simply follow the steps described in these technical specifications.

Access and restrictions

Please take a moment to read through the licence.

Data

The Web service use SOAP and XML as their communication protocol and the English language for method calling and data exchange. The service has an XML description readable in WSDL (i.e. https://ws-shc.qc.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/spine?wsdl). This description is useful for automatically generating code (with tools such as WSDL2Java from Apache Axis) to communicate with the services.

Rest-API Documentation

CHS is currently undergoing a transformation process in all its product and service delivery activities. Two of the key elements that CHS is working on are the modernization of the water level database (observations, forecasts, predictions) and the development of new services for the dissemination of these data including this REST-API programming interface.

To receive information and notices of updates regarding this interface, please send your name and email to: chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

To familiarize yourself with this new public API, users can consult the documentation available in English only on the following website: https://api-iwls.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/swagger-ui.html.

Example:
  1. To find the IDs of your stations of interest: https://api-iwls.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/api/v1/stations.
  2. Use the following query to obtain the official water levels (wlo) for Vieux-Québec station (ID code: 5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0f6) from October 1 to 2, 2020: https://api-iwls.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/api/v1/stations/5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0f6/data?time-series-code=wlo&from=2020-10-01T00:00:00Z&to=2020-10-01T00:30:00Z

    [{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:00:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.903,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:03:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.865,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:06:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.825,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:09:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.784,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:12:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.743,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:15:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.7,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:18:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.661,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:21:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.62,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:24:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.578,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:27:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.538,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:30:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.495,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true}]
                   
  3. Replace the station ID "5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0f6" with your station of interest.
  4. Change the value of the "Time-series-code" parameter to use either:
    • wlo – Water level observations
    • wlf or wlf-spine – Forecasts at operational stations only
    • wlp – Predictions (15 minutes)
    • wlp-hilo – Highs and Lows predictions
  5. Adjust the time period "From" and "To" using the ISO 8061 UTC format.
Quality control - qcFlagCode

The indicators used at all quality control levels are based on UNESCO Ocean Data Standards

Value Flag short name Definition
1 Good Passed documented required QC tests
2 Not evaluated, not available or unknown Used for data when no QC test performed or the information on quality is not available
3 Questionable/suspect Failed non-critical documented metric or subjective test(s)
4 Bad Failed critical documented QC test(s) or as assigned by the data provider
9 Missing data Used as place holder when data are missing

Le SHC transforme la façon dont il fournit des données!

Vous souhaitez essayer nos nouveaux outils de niveaux d'eau? Visitez notre nouveau site Web en cours de développement.

Graphique de niveau d'eau

Services Web et Rest-API

Veuillez noter :

Nous procédons à la désactivation des services WDS (observations et prédictions) du Service hydrographique du Canada le lundi 3 mai à 12h00 HAE. Veuillez-vous référer au texte ci-dessous pour plus d'informations sur l'utilisation du nouveau REST-API pour un accès direct aux données officielles sur les niveaux d'eau et autres services disponibles.

Service Web donnant accès aux données de prévisions SPINE de niveaux d’eau

Spécifications techniques pour y accéder

Ce document décrit les spécifications techniques pour accéder au service Web de prévisions et d’interpolation des niveaux d’eau entre Montréal et Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive communément appelé SPINE.

Description

Le service Web de prévisions SPINE a été développé par le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) et est disponible gratuitement sous licence. Ce système permet d’obtenir les niveaux d’eau à un moment et une position spécifiée par l’usager, jusqu’à 30 jours dans le futur, pour le chenal de navigation du fleuve Saint-Laurent entre le port de Montréal et Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive.

Ce système s’appuie, d’une part, sur les prévisions de niveaux d’eau qui sont basées sur un modèle hydrodynamique qui tient en compte diverses conditions météorologiques et, d’autre part, sur les observations en temps réel du réseau d’enregistreurs permanents de niveaux d’eau. Afin d'accroître la précision, les prévisions du modèle numérique sont ajustées aux observations de niveaux d'eau pour l'ensemble du secteur. De plus, une matrice de précision accompagne les données de prévision.

Afin d’accéder au service web il suffit de suivre les étapes décrites dans ces spécifications techniques.

Accès et restrictions

Veuillez prendre le temps de consulter la licence.

Données

Le service Web utilise SOAP et XML comme protocole de communication et la langue anglaise pour l’appel des méthodes et l’échange des données. Le service possède une description en XML accessible en langage WSDL (i.e. : https://ws-shc.qc.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/spine?wsdl). Cette description est utile pour générer automatiquement (à l’aide d’outils comme WSDL2Java d’Apache Axis) du code pour communiquer avec le service.

Documentation (de l’interface Rest-API)

Le SHC est présentement en processus de transformation dans toutes ses activités de livraison des produits et services. Deux des éléments essentiels sur lesquels travaille le SHC, concernent la modernisation de la base de données des niveaux d’eau (observations, prévisions, prédictions) et le développement de nouveaux services de diffusion de ces données dont cette interface de programmation REST-API.

Pour recevoir des informations et des avis de mise à jour de cette interface, veuillez nous transmettre votre nom et courriel à l’adresse suivante : shcinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Afin de vous familiariser avec ce nouvel API public, les usagers peuvent parcourir la documentation disponible en anglais seulement sur le site Web suivant : https://api-iwls.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/swagger-ui.html.

Exemple :
  1. Pour trouver les identifiants (ID) de vos stations d’intérêts : https://api-iwls.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/api/v1/stations.
  2. Utiliser la requête suivante pour obtenir les niveaux d’eau officiels (wlo) pour la station Vieux-Québec (ID code : 5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0f6) du 1er au 2 octobre 2020 : https://api-iwls.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/api/v1/stations/5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0f6/data?time-series-code=wlo&from=2020-10-01T00:00:00Z&to=2020-10-01T00:30:00Z

    [{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:00:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.903,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:03:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.865,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:06:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.825,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:09:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.784,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:12:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.743,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:15:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.7,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:18:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.661,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:21:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.62,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:24:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.578,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:27:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.538,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true},{"eventDate":"2020-10-01T00:30:00Z","qcFlagCode":"1","value":3.495,"timeSeriesId":"5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0e1","reviewed":true}]
    
                
  3. Remplacer l’ID de la station “5cebf1e23d0f4a073c4bc0f6” par celui de votre station d’intérêt ;
  4. Changer la valeur du paramètre “Time-series-code” pour utiliser soit :
    • wlo – Niveau d’eau observé
    • wlf ou wlf-spine – Prévisions des niveaux d’eau (aux stations opérationnelles seulement)
    • wlp – Niveaux d’eau prédits aux 15 minutes
    • wlp-hilo – Prédictions des hautes et basses mers (Tables de marées)
  5. Ajuster la période de temps “From” et “To” en utilisant le format ISO 8061 UTC.
qcFlagCode

Les indicateurs utilisés à tous les niveaux de contrôle de la qualité s'inspirent des normes de l'UNESCO en matière de données océanographiques.

Valeur Indicateur Définition
1 Bon Test réussi de contrôle de qualité
2 Non évalué, non-disponible ou inconnu Utilisé pour les données dont les tests de contrôle de qualité n’ont pas été effectués ou l’information sur la qualité n’est pas disponible
3 Questionnable ou suspect Données dont les tests de contrôle de qualité non critiques ont échoué
4 Mauvais Données dont les tests de contrôle de qualité critiques ont échoué
9 Donnée manquante Utilisé comme substitut lorsque les données sont manquantes